61.8 F
Monday, May 17, 2021

The votes are in — see how Dubois County voted

By Kathy Tretter

One thing is for sure, Indiana’s 2020 Primary Election was like no other, at least since 1920 — the first year women were allowed to vote after a decades-long struggle to see the 19th Amendment signed into law (Joint Resolution of Congress proposing a constitutional amendment extending the right of suffrage to women, approved June 4, 1919).

While probably not quite as dramatic as that hurdle, having a pandemic definitely threw the election into a different realm. Candidates had little opportunity to pound the pavement and introduce themselves to voters, although Tuesday’s primary winners now have until November to make themselves and their platforms known.

In Dubois County the voter turnout was a low, 18.17% at 5,428 of the 29,869 registered voters.

Some may have stayed away due to fears of COVID-19. In fact, of that number 1,765 voters opted to go absentee since Secretary of State Connie Lawson provided for paper ballots for anyone who asked (by the May 21 deadline), instead of requiring a reason to vote absentee.

Another 883 opted to vote early, leaving 2,780 to cast their votes on election day.

Here’s how Dubois Countians voted:

A total of 2,487 decided to stick with Donald Trump for president, with just 142 opting for Republican challenger Bill Weld. Democrat Hoosiers pretty much solidified what is already a fairly sure thing, casting 2,066 votes for Joe Biden (79.10%). His next closest rival was Bernie Sanders with 265 votes (10.15%).

The Indiana Governor’s race pitted incumbent Governor Eric Holcomb (R) against Democrat Woodrow (Woody) Myers, Holcomb commanded 2,458 votes to Myers’ 2,092.

Incumbent Republican Eight District Congressman Larry Bucshon received 2,352 votes. Three Democrats hope to unseat Bucshon and of those, at least in Dubois County, E. Thomasina Marsili came out on top with 37.01% of the votes (855) to Ron Drake’s 750 and Mike Webster’s 705.

Republican Incumbent State Representative District 63 Shane M. Lindauer received 1,587 votes and will face Democrat Teresa Kendall in November. Kendall netted 1,357 votes.

Republican Incumbent District 74 State Representative Stephen Bartels commanded 829 votes and faces no challenges in November — so far — although Independent or minor party candidates have until July 15 to file their intent to run.

Democrat 57th Circuit Court Judge Nathan Verkamp is running unopposed and garnered 2,440 votes. Ditto for Republican Treasurer Kitty Merkley at 2,383 ballots cast to retain her seat and no challenger.

Races were similar for Incumbent Republicans, County Surveyor Ken Brosmer (2,422), District 1 Commissioner Chad Blessinger (2,423) and District 3 Commissioner Nick Hostetter (2,321).

Voters were to cast their ballots for three Council-At Large seats. On the Republican side the three incumbents running to retain their seats include top vote-getter Mike Kluesner (2,109), Sonya Haas (1,980) and Doug Uebelhor (2,029).

Four Democrats issued a challenge and the top three will face the incumbents in the fall. Matt Brosmer garnered the most votes (1,858).Mike Kendall came in second at 1,432, closely followed by Mikayla Granados (1,421). Duncan Mathies will not be on the ballot in November with 1,274 votes cast in his favor.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles